Axiom root for ICS with CWM Touch! - Page 2 - Axiom Guides/Tutorials - TeamUSCellular

Jump to content


Photo

Axiom root for ICS with CWM Touch!

Axiom CWM Root

  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#21 jlittleton

jlittleton

    Kewl

  • 162 posts
  • Location:North Carolina
  • Device:Samsung S3 USC

Posted 05 April 2013 - 05:00 PM

Here's the odin update for JB:
http://www.hotfile.c...B2_USC.zip.html
 
I'll edit if CWM rooting still works.
 
Edit:
Yup, still works.



Can we use mobile Odin to update if we are already rooted or do we have to go back to stock?

Sent from my LiquidSmooth S3

#22 ssego

ssego

    Becoming Kewl

  • 61 posts
  • Location:Iowa
  • Device:Samsung Axiom

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:42 PM

I updated through Kies.  It locked my bootloader and I couldn't flash the custom recovery until I downgraded to the ICS bootchain like they had to do on the S3.  After that everything was smooth as silk.  If needed I'll write up a guide on the bootchain stuff..  but hopefully most are getting this OTA.  I'm going to use this as a base for a debloated rom, and I have a fellow dev that is willing to work on recoveries and kernels for the Axiom.



#23 seishuku

seishuku

    Hanging Around

  • 24 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Device:Samsung Galaxy Axiom

Posted 05 April 2013 - 08:11 PM

Hmm... weird, I let the Odin update flash the bootloaders and I was able to reflash my CWM recovery.

#24 ssego

ssego

    Becoming Kewl

  • 61 posts
  • Location:Iowa
  • Device:Samsung Axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 12:03 AM

I don't know if kies is different..  I wouldn't assume so, but maybe.  I know they had this issue on the S3, that's how I figured out how to solve it.  Hopefully soon we'll have a custom kernel with overclocking and  twrp recovery and custom roms and AOSP and all that goodness..  but time will tell.  Stay tuned :D



#25 sasikanth8

sasikanth8

    Hanging Around

  • 48 posts
  • Phone #:8939430448
  • Location:India
  • Device:samsung galaxy axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:38 AM

Updated to jb :D
But lot of crapware:(

Sent from my SCH-R830 using Tapatalk 2

#26 jlittleton

jlittleton

    Kewl

  • 162 posts
  • Location:North Carolina
  • Device:Samsung S3 USC

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:53 AM

Since I am already rooted, how can I do the update?

Sent from my LiquidSmooth S3

#27 sasikanth8

sasikanth8

    Hanging Around

  • 48 posts
  • Phone #:8939430448
  • Location:India
  • Device:samsung galaxy axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 05:04 AM

@Twisty
Please do us a favor by updating first post with info on
1.Does this work with JB
2.What to do for ics rooted users
TIA

sent from Samsung axiom using Tapatalk2
  • jlittleton likes this

#28 sasikanth8

sasikanth8

    Hanging Around

  • 48 posts
  • Phone #:8939430448
  • Location:India
  • Device:samsung galaxy axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 05:41 AM

Things i have noticed on jb:
Occasional lags/freezes:mellow:,
total Ram has increased to 800mb:rolleyes:.

sent from Samsung axiom using Tapatalk2

#29 sasikanth8

sasikanth8

    Hanging Around

  • 48 posts
  • Phone #:8939430448
  • Location:India
  • Device:samsung galaxy axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 10:05 AM

Root not working on JB (may be i did something wrong inexperienced user :-[ )

The cwm is not in touch.

When trying to install zip i get this error

"failed to verify file signature"

 

root exporer shows "this device does not have proper root access"

 

HELP.


  • sictek likes this

#30 sictek

sictek

    New Here

  • 3 posts
  • Location:IL
  • Device:Samsung Axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 10:34 AM

Flash back to stock (Ics 4.04 rom located on this forum.) and do the root. Cwm touch didn't work on Jb for me but Ics stock works. The reason you're getting a signature fail is that you are using stock recovery due to cwm failing to flash properly with Jb.
Make sure you put the SU zip in /extsdcard. Also you have to select sdcard in zip install menu once you get cwm touch up. I didnt see the option at first and was baffled at why I couldn't find the file. In my defense I blame the screen shifting :-)

#31 sasikanth8

sasikanth8

    Hanging Around

  • 48 posts
  • Phone #:8939430448
  • Location:India
  • Device:samsung galaxy axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 10:35 AM

The cwm is not working.
I was on stock recovery that's the reason supersu zip is not working.

If anyone finds a working cwm please post.

sent from Samsung axiom using Tapatalk2

#32 sasikanth8

sasikanth8

    Hanging Around

  • 48 posts
  • Phone #:8939430448
  • Location:India
  • Device:samsung galaxy axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 10:40 AM

Thanks for the info sictek.:rolleyes:
But I want jb :(

sent from Samsung axiom using Tapatalk2

Edited by sasikanth8, 06 April 2013 - 10:41 AM.


#33 ssego

ssego

    Becoming Kewl

  • 61 posts
  • Location:Iowa
  • Device:Samsung Axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 11:06 AM

I'm working a guide to solve this issue.

Sent from my SCH-R830 using Tapatalk 2
  • therealtoddster and sasikanth8 like this

#34 sasikanth8

sasikanth8

    Hanging Around

  • 48 posts
  • Phone #:8939430448
  • Location:India
  • Device:samsung galaxy axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 11:54 AM

Please post asap :)

sent from Samsung axiom using Tapatalk2

#35 sictek

sictek

    New Here

  • 3 posts
  • Location:IL
  • Device:Samsung Axiom

Posted 06 April 2013 - 02:05 PM

In the meantime I discovered that you can easily clear the update reminder by disabling software update(there are 2, disable the green app as the other cannot be disabled this way) in the app manager.

#36 sasikanth8

sasikanth8

    Hanging Around

  • 48 posts
  • Phone #:8939430448
  • Location:India
  • Device:samsung galaxy axiom

Posted 07 April 2013 - 06:11 AM

What to do for XDA to list our device? :P



#37 RON427

RON427

    Amazing Person








  • 411 posts
  • Location:04430
  • Device:Asus Nexus7
  • Google Talk:rrvigue@gmail.com
  • Google Plus:104139283078826278656

Posted 07 April 2013 - 07:20 AM

What to do for XDA to list our device? :P

Since this is not XDA I would suggest going to XDA and asking the question. They won't even support our S3 so good luck.


  • BoгИX likes this
pfnsig2.jpg

#38 craveddreams

craveddreams

    Becoming Kewl

  • 73 posts
  • Location:fairfield ia
  • Device:gs3

Posted 02 May 2013 - 05:42 PM

Thanks for the simple tut
I am having problems with tethering with out usc notification
I tryed

If you plan on tethering download Titanium Back-up and back-up and uninstall the “TDS Sync” app.

Twisty

And it did not work any ideas

Sent from my SCH-R830 using Tapatalk


Edit found it

Edited by craveddreams, 03 May 2013 - 09:33 AM.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Axiom, CWM, Root


1 2