I want to unlock my S4 ATT&T - Galaxy S4 Development - TeamUSCellular

Jump to content


Photo

I want to unlock my S4 ATT&T

S4 ATT&T

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 ringo

ringo

    New Here

  • 1 posts
  • Location:jakarta
  • Device:HTC Desire

Posted 23 June 2013 - 08:33 AM

I want to unlock my S4 ATT&T can someone recommend me a good provider? I found safeunlockcode.com any feedback about them?

 



#2 C-Money

C-Money

    Kewler Than Kewl

  • 392 posts
  • Location:IA
  • Device:Galaxy S III

Posted 23 June 2013 - 10:37 AM

Take phone, place in microwave on low for 5 mintues. Will unlock it and charge the battery as well at the same time.



#3 KSHolloman

KSHolloman

    Amazing Person

  • 402 posts
  • Phone #:9192225243
  • Location:Pikeville, NC
  • Device:Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 23 June 2013 - 12:16 PM

Take phone, place in microwave on low for 5 mintues. Will unlock it and charge the battery as well at the same time.

There's no way this could be serious. If so, I'd definitely find an alternative lol

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2



#4 iRub1Out

iRub1Out

    Dance Puppets, Dance!








  • 14,959 posts
  • Location:Newton, Iowa
  • Device:S5
  • Google Plus:https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JonVD/posts

Posted 23 June 2013 - 02:12 PM

Were CDMA.

 

Google it.

 

Our phones don't unlock - we don't use services like that.

 

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4 Beta


  • McDaddy Tree likes this

(Devices I've owned)

S5 - S4 - S3 - EM - E2 - E1 - Moto X - Nexus 4 - iPhone 5S

 

The importance of commas:
Let's eat, Grandpa!
vs.
Let's eat Grandpa!


#5 thatoneguy

thatoneguy

    Amazing... Enough Said





  • 2,069 posts
  • Location:Midwest
  • Device:Galaxy S3

Posted 23 June 2013 - 03:48 PM

If your out of contract with att they'll unlock it for you. Keep in mind it still won't with on uscc.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk 4 Beta



#6 iRub1Out

iRub1Out

    Dance Puppets, Dance!








  • 14,959 posts
  • Location:Newton, Iowa
  • Device:S5
  • Google Plus:https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JonVD/posts

Posted 23 June 2013 - 08:14 PM

http://teamuscellula...Cellular-F.A.Q.

Question #4

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

(Devices I've owned)

S5 - S4 - S3 - EM - E2 - E1 - Moto X - Nexus 4 - iPhone 5S

 

The importance of commas:
Let's eat, Grandpa!
vs.
Let's eat Grandpa!


#7 snodrog742

snodrog742

    Seriously 2.0...

  • 5,784 posts
  • Phone #:2706812326
  • Location:Illinois
  • Device:iPhone 5s
  • Google Talk:teamuscc2011@gmail.com
  • Google Plus:106781649499633521245

Posted 23 June 2013 - 08:25 PM

Why is this in GS2 section?  Moved.


meblend3.jpg


 


#8 KSHolloman

KSHolloman

    Amazing Person

  • 402 posts
  • Phone #:9192225243
  • Location:Pikeville, NC
  • Device:Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 June 2013 - 03:28 AM

http://teamuscellula...Cellular-F.A.Q.

Question #4

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4 Beta


Maybe I'm reading the answer wrong, but my phone has a SIM card.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2



#9 RON427

RON427

    Amazing Person








  • 411 posts
  • Location:04430
  • Device:Asus Nexus7
  • Google Talk:rrvigue@gmail.com
  • Google Plus:104139283078826278656

Posted 24 June 2013 - 06:37 AM

 

[url=http://teamuscellular.com/Forum/index.php?/topic/3547-**[-Read-Before-Posting-]**-U.S.-Cellular-F.A.Q.]http://teamuscellular.com/Forum/index.php?/topic/3547-**[-Read-Before-Posting-]**-U.S.-Cellular-F.A.Q.

 

Question #4

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

 

 


Maybe I'm reading the answer wrong, but my phone has a SIM card.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2

 

 
 
All US Cellular phones are CDMA and are able to be unlocked. They will not work on any GSM network. You can only unlock it to be used on other CDMA carriers that will allow another carriers phone to be used on their network.
 
(i.e. Ntelos, Cricket, Straight Talk, etc)
 
Some US Cellular phones are world phones and can be used on GSM networks outside the US ONLY.
 
The SIM card and SIM card slots on U.S. Cellular phones are for LTE ONLY - they DO NOT work with ANY GSM carrier in the U.S. They also do not work on any carrier other than US Cellular.
 
There is currently NO WAY to "unlock" or "hack" the firmware to allow use of GSM carriers.


Edited by RON427, 24 June 2013 - 06:50 AM.

  • na7q, sageDieu and dBuster like this
pfnsig2.jpg

#10 iRub1Out

iRub1Out

    Dance Puppets, Dance!








  • 14,959 posts
  • Location:Newton, Iowa
  • Device:S5
  • Google Plus:https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JonVD/posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:02 AM

I know it has a Sim card, but the lte Sim we use and a gsm networks Sim aren't the same as far as purpose.

The Sim for us allows data connection, whereas a Sim for a gsm carrier is essentially the programming of the phone. For service in general, not just data.

So our Sim won't do anything in a gsm phone, and their Sims won't do anything in ours. Our phones have the programming already built in.

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4 Beta


  • RON427 and sageDieu like this

(Devices I've owned)

S5 - S4 - S3 - EM - E2 - E1 - Moto X - Nexus 4 - iPhone 5S

 

The importance of commas:
Let's eat, Grandpa!
vs.
Let's eat Grandpa!


#11 ben

ben

    Hanging Around

  • 23 posts
  • Location:Southern US
  • Device:Galaxy S4
  • Google Talk:me@benmurphy.net

Posted 24 June 2013 - 09:17 AM

If you are on AT&T there is the unethical, but effective way of doing a support chat online with AT&T, tell them you have a funeral in Europe, you're traveling there and need to unlock your phone for a European carrier. They gave me the code and told me that it was unnecessary for non-AT&T Sim cards but would allow the use of other AT&T Sims. It worked.

It's evolution, baby. My device history from 2010-Present: [sprint]  HTC Evo 4G > HTC Evo 3D > Samsung Galaxy SII ET4g > [att] Samsung Galaxy Note > Samsung Galaxy S3 > iPhone 4s > LG Optimus G > Nexus 4 > [usc] Samsung Galaxy Note II > Samsung Galaxy S4

I spend some f*cking money on phones.


#12 iRub1Out

iRub1Out

    Dance Puppets, Dance!








  • 14,959 posts
  • Location:Newton, Iowa
  • Device:S5
  • Google Plus:https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JonVD/posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 10:11 AM

So...wait.

He has an att S4, and wants to know what carrier to go to and keep the phone?

There's only two primary options att or tmo. Cut and dry.

It will never fully work on USC or vzw - no matter what. Were not the best choice of opinion since were the polar opposite type of carrier.

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4 Beta


  • RON427 likes this

(Devices I've owned)

S5 - S4 - S3 - EM - E2 - E1 - Moto X - Nexus 4 - iPhone 5S

 

The importance of commas:
Let's eat, Grandpa!
vs.
Let's eat Grandpa!


#13 KSHolloman

KSHolloman

    Amazing Person

  • 402 posts
  • Phone #:9192225243
  • Location:Pikeville, NC
  • Device:Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 June 2013 - 12:27 PM

**-U.S.-Cellular-F.A.Q.][url="http://teamuscellular.com/Forum/index.php?/topic/3547-**"]http://teamuscellula...?/topic/3547-**[-Read-Before-Posting-]**-U.S.-Cellular-F.A.Q.

Question #4

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Maybe I'm reading the answer wrong, but my phone has a SIM card.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2



All US Cellular phones are CDMA and are able to be unlocked. They will not work on any GSM network. You can only unlock it to be used on other CDMA carriers that will allow another carriers phone to be used on their network.

(i.e. Ntelos, Cricket, Straight Talk, etc)

Some US Cellular phones are world phones and can be used on GSM networks outside the US ONLY.

The SIM card and SIM card slots on U.S. Cellular phones are for LTE ONLY - they DO NOT work with ANY GSM carrier in the U.S. They also do not work on any carrier other than US Cellular.

There is currently NO WAY to "unlock" or "hack" the firmware to allow use of GSM carriers.

Thanks for the info. I knew we were CDMA phones and that we used Sim cards. I wasn't sure about other carriers though

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2



#14 KSHolloman

KSHolloman

    Amazing Person

  • 402 posts
  • Phone #:9192225243
  • Location:Pikeville, NC
  • Device:Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 June 2013 - 12:28 PM

**-U.S.-Cellular-F.A.Q.][url="http://teamuscellular.com/Forum/index.php?/topic/3547-**"]http://teamuscellula...?/topic/3547-**[-Read-Before-Posting-]**-U.S.-Cellular-F.A.Q.

Question #4

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Maybe I'm reading the answer wrong, but my phone has a SIM card.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2



All US Cellular phones are CDMA and are able to be unlocked. They will not work on any GSM network. You can only unlock it to be used on other CDMA carriers that will allow another carriers phone to be used on their network.

(i.e. Ntelos, Cricket, Straight Talk, etc)

Some US Cellular phones are world phones and can be used on GSM networks outside the US ONLY.

The SIM card and SIM card slots on U.S. Cellular phones are for LTE ONLY - they DO NOT work with ANY GSM carrier in the U.S. They also do not work on any carrier other than US Cellular.

There is currently NO WAY to "unlock" or "hack" the firmware to allow use of GSM carriers.

Thanks for the info. I knew we were CDMA phones and that we used Sim cards. I wasn't sure about other carriers though

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2



#15 KSHolloman

KSHolloman

    Amazing Person

  • 402 posts
  • Phone #:9192225243
  • Location:Pikeville, NC
  • Device:Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 June 2013 - 12:33 PM

What confused me was where the other says "we don't have a SIM card to switch into another unlocked phone, and I knew mine had a SIM, just wasn't sure if it would work for what the OP is wanting.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2



#16 iRub1Out

iRub1Out

    Dance Puppets, Dance!








  • 14,959 posts
  • Location:Newton, Iowa
  • Device:S5
  • Google Plus:https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JonVD/posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 04:43 PM

:wipes forehead:

 

Sims (in regards to USC) are not interchangeable. In any way.

 

USC sim to USC phone only.

Att Sim - USC phone - no

Tmo Sim - USC phone - no

Vzw Sim - USC phone - no*

USC Sim - tmo phone - no

USC Sim - att phone - no

USC Sim - vzw phone - no

 

It doesn't matter that you have a Sim, your Sim slot doesn't work the same way - sadly - but you're stuck picking a gsm carrier, tmo.

 

You might get some things to work, but others won't, and likely never will. Same with us, we can't use gsm carriers as normal.

 

I wish this wasn't true, I wish that unlocked devices were 100% universal and you could pick any carrier, Sim or not, but the US has taken away that monopoly option. Which, I get, but don't necessarily agree with in its entirety.

 

I wish my phone would work in other countries without having to roam, just pick a prepaid for the trip and viola, that would be easier.

 

*requires illegally swapping ESN numbers.

 

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4 Beta


(Devices I've owned)

S5 - S4 - S3 - EM - E2 - E1 - Moto X - Nexus 4 - iPhone 5S

 

The importance of commas:
Let's eat, Grandpa!
vs.
Let's eat Grandpa!


#17 higher

higher

    New Here

  • 2 posts
  • Location:Inddia
  • Device:Iphone

Posted 22 August 2013 - 03:03 AM

I have not heard much about the site that you have mentioned...

As to my experience i unlock phones with the help of Simpleunlocking.com where they provide you with unlock codes along with free instructions to unlock your Samsung Galaxy S4...



#18 iRub1Out

iRub1Out

    Dance Puppets, Dance!








  • 14,959 posts
  • Location:Newton, Iowa
  • Device:S5
  • Google Plus:https://plus.google.com/u/0/+JonVD/posts

Posted 22 August 2013 - 07:10 AM

That only applies to GSM phones.

USCC is a CDMA carrier. Two entirely different technologies.

Sent from my SCH-R970 using Tapatalk 4


  • dBuster and Zenzr like this

(Devices I've owned)

S5 - S4 - S3 - EM - E2 - E1 - Moto X - Nexus 4 - iPhone 5S

 

The importance of commas:
Let's eat, Grandpa!
vs.
Let's eat Grandpa!






1 2